Firefox UI mentorship program

11 February, 2015 § 3 Comments

Update: Due to a large number of responses, I will be letting people know today, February 14th (instead of the previously mentioned February 13th).

Cheesy announcement graphic :PSince I joined Mozilla I’ve been looking for ways to increase the opportunities for new people to get started working on the Firefox user interface.

I’m now ready to try something that I’ve been thinking about doing for a little while.

I’m looking for four people that I will mentor and help along as they fix bugs across the Firefox user interface. The first bug will be an easy one to get started with the codebase and comfortable building the browser, and they will increase in difficulty from there. At the end of the program you will be able to say that you’ve made some large contributions to Firefox. We will use JavaScript, CSS, and XUL (similar to HTML).

The project will be about six weeks long, starting February 16th and ending March 31st. During this time, I will be available to meet through video chat, IRC (text-based chat), and email.

If you are interested in working with me and have at least two to three years of classroom experience in Computer Science (or equivalent open source experience), please send an email to jaws+goodfirstmentee@mozilla.com along with:

  • Your name
  • A short 1-2 sentences about any open source experience you have
  • And a rough estimate of how many hours per week you think you could dedicate towards the program.

I’ll let you know if you’ve been accepted by February 13th 14th. Thanks!

Tagged: , ,

§ 3 Responses to Firefox UI mentorship program

  • Dabby Kish says:

    If I do send an email to the above address, should the 2-3 yrs. coursework be described, or should I stick to the script laid out in the <ul>?

    • msujaws says:

      Most colleges and universities are pretty similar for the first couple years of their CS programs, so you shouldn’t worry about it. I’m basically looking to see that you understand basic CS fundamentals and hopefully that will translate to higher rates of success with this program.

  • Sumith says:

    Since it’s the GSoC application period,I am busy in preparation of a proposal and might be able to give the expected time but I am really interested in contributing to mozilla and such great initiative must not be missed.So I request you to maybe keep some more such projects that starts in March end or in Summer(April to August).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Firefox UI mentorship program at JAWS.

meta