My first Firefox work week

18 July, 2011 § 5 Comments

This past week was my first Firefox work week. We flew team members in from all over the world to Mountain View, California.

On Monday we met up early at the office to board a bus to Monterey, CA for a couple days of meeting, demos, and team building. We saw demos from the Fennec (Firefox mobile) team, developer tools, user experience, engineering, and more.

Justin Dolske gave a great presentation on the Telemetry framework within Firefox. He demonstrated how we can collect anonymous statistics related to the performance and usage of features within the browser.

After spending a couple days in Monterey (and making sure to visit the hotel pool and the Monterey Bay Aquarium), we headed back to Mountain View for a few more days in the office.

The theme for Wednesday seemed to be “recover and start working”, although I didn’t get much of an opportunity to write code on Wednesday. Most of my day was spent reading up on the progress of our new Download Manager. Paolo Amadini has been doing an excellent job on a new Download Manager user interface for the browser. I’m going to be working with Paolo, Sinchan Banerjee, Marko Bonardo, and Stephen Horlander to try to get these feature shipped and into users hands.

Thursday and Friday were spent doing mostly team building excercises. We took a short excursion to San Francisco for a course on “mixology”, and on Friday we applied our newly learned skills by making drinks for our coworkers back at the office :)

So in the end, I don’t think I got as much of so-called work done during the work week as I had expected, but I think I took away more than I had expected. I got to meet and hang out with many of the people I have only spoken to over IRC, and I feel that it is weeks like these that make a team stronger (distributed or otherwise).

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to My first Firefox work week

  • Bret says:

    Yeah Jared! More work weeks to come, excited to have you working on the installer, it only affects everyone :) – Welcome

  • njn says:

    Rule of thumb: don’t code during work weeks. You can code at home. Talk to people instead. If you are going to code, work on something that you couldn’t do by yourself.

    • msujaws says:

      Thanks! These are notes that I wish I had before the work week. I will try to make more out of the upcoming All-Hands week :)

  • Yeah, I coded more in 1/2 hour at home that I did during the whole work week.

    Socialize, learning and blogging seem to be the way to go.

  • [...] got started working on the conditional forward button immediately after the Firefox work week in Monterey, CA. I spent time fleshing out some initial approaches for the conditional forward button and worked [...]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My first Firefox work week at JAWS.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers