My work so far on Firefox

16 June, 2011 § 5 Comments

As I am now 80% through my first week at Mozilla, I’d like to cover some of the bugs that I’ve been working on.

  • Some users like to view the About dialog and copy their version for use in bug reports or emails. As of Firefox 4, this is not possible. I implemented a basic way to select and copy the version string in the About dialog.
  • A couple developers have noticed exception messages pop up while working in the form auto-complete code. It turns out that our exception handling would catch the exception properly, but then in a finally block there was a potential that another exception would get thrown. I implemented some simple guards to make sure that there would not be an exception thrown from the finally block.
  • Before Firefox was all about using tabs to view multiple websites, we had an activity indicator in the toolbar. The activity indicator would tell a user the status of the network events. After updating the branding for Firefox 4, the activity indicator was hidden by default and a throbber was added to the tab. It turns out that the activity indicator in the toolbar never got its graphics updated. I worked on updating the graphics for the indicator, but we are missing the “connected” graphic. Since this feature is hidden by default and a super-low priority, we will probably not fix this bug.
  • Hitting the back button is probably one of the most often-performed actions of a web browser. Unfortunately, you currently have to hit the back button exactly on the circular part of the button. If a user clicks to the left of the button no action will occur. I’ve been working on a fix for this bug but am not confident enough yet to assign the bug to myself.

So that covers the bugs that I’ve been working on these past few days. If all goes well, then we should see these changes appear in Firefox 7.

Tagged: ,

§ 5 Responses to My work so far on Firefox

  • Matt Wein says:

    Sweet blog, you should definitely take on the bug fix for the back button. I think I’m going to sign up for my own wordpress soon so I’ll start posting blogs up every once in a while too. Have you seen any of the remote controlled robot employees yet?

    • msujaws says:

      Great! You should definitely sign up for your own blog. I haven’t had the luck of getting to meet any robots yet, but it is only my first week so I am keeping my hopes up🙂

  • A.J. says:

    So I knew the exception issue wasn’t a C++ issue but wasn’t recalling immediately; but then you said the problem was with a ‘finally’ and that is when I recalled!🙂 Since C++ doesn’t have ‘finally’ (exception VS).

  • […] written before about my first few days at Mozilla and my first year. Today I saw a question on Quora about “what is it like to […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My work so far on Firefox at JAWS.

meta