Recap of Day 2 @ Mozilla

14 June, 2011 § 4 Comments

Today was my second day at Mozilla.

I started off the day by kicking off a local build of Firefox. I’ve built Firefox at home before, but this was my first build on my new machine. Generally speaking, a full build of Firefox on Windows takes about an hour. During this time I took care of some other paperwork that I didn’t get to yesterday, as well as looking through Bugzilla to find a bug to work on.

This is my first time working with the Mozilla codebase, although I have done some cursory readings about XUL before. I picked up a pretty simple bug that would give me an opportunity to get familiar with some of the XUL controls: Bug 598169.

Bug 598169 deals with the ability to select and copy the version string from the About dialog. This ability is useful if you are pasting the current version of the browser in to an IRC chat or in a bug report. Ideally users would use about:support since there is more diagnostic information, but many users have been trained over time to visit the About dialog.

I spent a good deal of time swapping out the controls and trying different variations, as well as tweaking the related CSS file for the dialog. By the end of the day, I had a patch submitted and ready for code review. I don’t expect that this initial patch will be the one that gets landed, but its a start and I’m happy to say that I was able to submit a patch within my second day.

Based on the new rapid release cycle, if the patch gets landed tomorrow then it should be visible in the Aurora channel of Firefox in early July.

Tomorrow I’m looking forward to cleaning up the patch based on the code review and picking up another bug to work on.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Recap of Day 2 @ Mozilla

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recap of Day 2 @ Mozilla at JAWS.

meta