Recap of Day 1 @ Mozilla

13 June, 2011 § 7 Comments

Today was my first day working at Mozilla.

To start the day, I had a new hire orientation in the Holodeck conference room. We covered the benefits and standard I-9 documentation things.

From there we had the Mozilla Project-Wide meeting in Ten Forward where we learned about upcoming details of the Firefox 5 launch as well as an update from PR.

Lunch was catered Hawaiian food, but due to a longer than normal project-wide meeting, the Firefox team meeting was bumped to 12:45. At the Firefox team meeting, I learned about our team offsite in Monterey, CA in mid-July. We’ll be heading down there for a couple days (and flying in people who work remotely) so that we can have some good team-building time and get a lot done😀 Following that meeting we went out to lunch.

We brought the food back to the office, and I got started setting up my desk and computing environment. I’m running a Lenovo 15″ laptop with an Intel Core i7 with 8 GB of RAM, about equivalent to my then-beefy home desktop. I’ve got the computer set up to display output on three displays (the built-in laptop display, and two 24-inch displays rotated in portrait mode).

I followed this with a short meeting between myself, a new intern, and our manager. We talked about the branching/rapid-release cycle that Firefox is now on and how that affects landing changesets.

So it seems that my day was filled with meetings, but it sure doesn’t feel like it. I got to meet tons of people today and am super excited for tomorrow as I will start working on my first bug-fix for Firefox.

Tagged: ,

§ 7 Responses to Recap of Day 1 @ Mozilla

  • Randall says:

    I thought you were getting a Macbook Pro

    • msujaws says:

      Hey Randall! Thanks for reading🙂

      In fact I did get a MacBook Pro. After some talking with other devs on the team, they convinced me that using BootCamp to switch between Windows and Mac wouldn’t be ideal. So I switched to the ThinkPad and they’ll get me a Mac Mini so I can verify my changes on a Mac.

  • A.J. says:

    I hope you make use of the pool perk! I wish we had such a perk. And maybe we do (regarding the hotel close by) and all I have to do is ask! You know this summer we should totally find out if it is ok!

    • msujaws says:

      Does your apartment complex have a pool? I’m sure you could always go over to Club Meridian for a little pool party😉

  • A.J. says:

    They do! I am Knob Hill right now; but I could always use Club Meridian when needed. Though it would be better to use the one next to work than travel a mile! But you’re right a pool party sounds awesome!

  • […] started working at Mozilla on the Firefox team almost one year ago. As I am now nearing my 1-year anniversary, I’d like to go over my accomplishments for the […]

  • […] computer to use for work, or would I be expected to use my personal computer? Yes, Mozilla provides some very nice computers for work. I have heard of other engineers who have 32GB of RAM. If you need hardware, you file a […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Recap of Day 1 @ Mozilla at JAWS.

meta