Permanently Set the Paragraph Spacing to Single Spaced in Word 2007

19 November, 2009 § 1 Comment

My Dad and others that I know have been constantly frustrated with the change in Microsoft Office Word 2007 to default to 15% larger lines. I’ve tried to help them solve this by creating single spaced templates that default to single spaced, but the workflow for creating a new document based off a template is not obvious nor default.

Today I learned of the best way to revert the behavior back to Office 2003.

I hope this helps others who don’t like the change.

By the way, I do like the change. I find that the text is much easier to read when it has a larger spacing, and studies show I’m not the only one.

Results show that the use of margins affected both reading speed and comprehension in that participants read the Margin text slower, but comprehended more than the No Margin text. Participants were also generally more satisfied with the text with margins. Leading was not shown to impact reading performance but did influence overall user preference.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Permanently Set the Paragraph Spacing to Single Spaced in Word 2007

  • v steinberg says:

    Just fyi- I resent microsoft’s making the decision for me. If I want to double space, I can do it anytime. However, their change has made it impossible for me to copy saved docucments with my return address & other information in the same form as it previously was. It looks terrible to have a company name logo with address double spaced “away” & phone/fax numbers another 2 spaces away – very unprofessional looking & it takes up way too much room.
    So – I hope your plan works. I tried 1 fix & it worked for that 1 document only.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Permanently Set the Paragraph Spacing to Single Spaced in Word 2007 at JAWS.

meta