Book Reading Update

31 May, 2009 § 1 Comment

Today I returned three books to the MSU Library. I received Effective STL, The Pragmatic Programmer, and Code Complete 2nd Edition through the Michigan eLibrary, otherwise known as MeL.

MeL offers the ability to check out a book from any public library in Michigan through your local public library.

The checkout policies will differ from your local library, for example at Michigan State I can check out a book for six months due to my graduate student standing, whereas with MeL I can only check out a book for three weeks (with an optional three week renewal). Also, any overdue fines at MSU are voided when the book is returned, whereas MeL charges $2/day late fees.

If you live in Michigan I highly recommend you take a look at MeL if you can’t find the book you are looking for in your local library.

After returning the books, I checked out two books from the MSU Libraries:

  1. Le Ton beau de Marot: In Praise of the Music of Language by Douglas Hofstadter
  2. Data Mining Techniques: For Marketing, Sales, and Customer Relationship Management by Micahel J. A. Berry and Gordon S. Linoff

I first learned of Le Ton beau de Marot while reading through a discussion about the Linux port of Google Chrome. From Wikipedia:

Le Ton beau de Marot: In Praise of the Music of Language, published by Basic Books in 1997, is a book by Douglas Hofstadter in which he explores the meaning, strengths, failings, and beauty of translation. Hofstadter himself refers to it as “my ruminations on the art of translation“.

Translation between frames of reference — languages, cultures, modes of expression, or indeed between one person’s thoughts and another — becomes an element in many of the same concepts Hofstadter has addressed in prior works, such as reference and self-reference, structure and function, and artificial intelligence.

The second book I checked out was recommended by Kurt Thearling. I am going to take a Data Mining course in the Fall at MSU as part of my Masters in Computer Science, and I wanted to get a good understanding of Data Mining before the course starts. From Kurt:

An excellent introduction to the techniques of data mining as well as the application of data mining to real world business problems. This is the first book that I recommend to anyone interested in learning about data mining.

I am currently in the process of finishing up Peopleware, and after such I am planning on reading Le Ton beau de Marot.

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to Book Reading Update

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book Reading Update at JAWS.

meta