Contributions to Firefox In My First Three Weeks

7 July, 2011 § 8 Comments

I joined Mozilla on June 13th and have had a great time working with the Mozilla community. As the Firefox 7 train has now left the yard, I’d like to go over my work that did and did not make it in to Firefox 7.

In Firefox 7 (August 2011):

  1. Added the ability to select and copy the version text from the About dialog.
  2. Fixed some JavaScript code in the Password Manager and the Login Manager that was throwing unnecessary exceptions.
  3. Reduced the download size of our Linux distribution by a tiny fraction when I removed document.png from our package.
  4. Added the ability to click on the content area of HTML5 video elements to toggle between play and pause.

After Firefox 7 (September 2011 or later):

  1. Increasing the click-ablility of the Back button on Windows.
  2. Add large play button overlay to HTML5 video elements. [Artwork in this post is courtesy of yours truly]
  3. Add support for the stalled event with our standard HTML5 video controls.

In the near future, I will likely be splitting a majority of my time between refreshing the media controls and improving the download manager.

Tagged: ,

§ 8 Responses to Contributions to Firefox In My First Three Weeks

  • djp says:

    >In the near future, I will likely be splitting a majority of my time between refreshing the media controls and improving the download manager.

    cool, the download manager needs some work

  • MaK says:

    Paolo Amadini is already working on the new download manager panel (and interaction), so it would be cool to coordinate your effort if you’re moving toward that, the project is in a good shape and not that far from being ready for prime-time.

    • msujaws says:

      Thanks MaK. I will be working with Paolo and Sinchan Banerjee to clear up the remaining bugs and add any pixel polish that is needed.

  • skierpage says:

    Thanks for fixing Help > About ! I miss the context menu on text and links in it, all part of dumbing down Firefox I guess. There’s still an about:about in Firefox nightly, the version paragraph in that should be outside the hyperlink and/or aboutLogoContainer. Minor stuff, I’ll file bugs some day.

    • msujaws says:

      Hmmm… I don’t see a version paragraph in about:about on Nightly or on Aurora. Maybe I’m looking in the wrong place?

      I disagree that Firefox is being dumbed down. I think it is heading a little closer to its initial roots. When Firefox first came out, much of the talk about Firefox was how clean and simple it is :)

  • A.J. says:

    Hey Hey Jared,
    I am still on Firefox 6; but it shouldn’t be long until I, and everybody else, is using Firefox 7. I know I can start using a beta of it today. I am looking forward to seeing your changes! The clicking of a video to pause/resume is the one I am most excited about!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Contributions to Firefox In My First Three Weeks at JAWS.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers