Trials and tribulations of building Google Chrome with Visual Studio 2008

25 March, 2009 § Leave a comment

You’ve downloaded the Google Chrome tarball from their website and are all ready to build it and play around with the code. This is what I was ready to do. The IDE that I have installed on my machine is Visual Studio 2008 SP1, which isn’t supported yet for the Chromium solution. Here are the steps that I have taken so far, they may be helpful if you are in my steps:

By the way, my download was revision 10080.

  1. In MathExtras.h, you’ll have to comment out the line #include <xmath.h> from the WebKit\WebCore file.
  2. Remove all the inline keywords from the Glue project
  3. Add the RAW_KEY_DOWN value to the WebInput enumeration.

This is where I sit now. I’ve got about 150 errors when I build. Some of the errors mention missing files. When I get a chance I’m planning on just syncing up my source with the latest and hoping that will fix some of the missing files. When I get it all working, I’ll add a post with steps on how to build Google Chrome with Visual Studio 2008 SP1.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Trials and tribulations of building Google Chrome with Visual Studio 2008 at JAWS.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,015 other followers